Monday, April 16, 2012

Skinny

My weekday morning routine is always the same...

Step 1: Hit Snooze
Step 2: Sleep for 8 more minutes (I'm always paranoid that I accidently turned the alarm off so I never make it the entire time)
Step 3: Check emails
Step 4: Respond to any emails from my boss's boss who likes to send emails at 5 AM (so basically I pretend that I've been up working since 5 AM too)
Step 5: Forward good shopping related emails to my mom
Step 6: Get out of bed (15 minutes later...good thing I set my alarm to go off early...I have an additional alarm set to remind me to get in the shower)

Yes. This my actual alarm...and no it still never seems to get me out the house on time!

Usually I don't pay attention to models much further than what they have on and how I can make it work on my not-so modelesque body. But then I opened up an email (from one of my favorite retailers...one I actually used to work for) and I saw this...


 Is it me or is she WAY skinny? I understand that she is on the runway but she does NOT represent the majority of real life women. I don't knock skinny girls ever, but what about the strong, healthy girl? What about the girl that hits the gym up and has the muscles to prove it? What about the girl that has thunder thighs because she can leg press 325 lbs?


No worries model girl...I'll do some extra squats for you when I hit the gym at 6 AM.

Sunday, April 15, 2012

You're Stuck on an Island

Everyone has played that game...you're stuck on an island and you can bring 3 things. What do you bring? My version of the game is a little different, its the three condiments I can't live without. I put one of these sauces on food 99% of the time.

1. A1...I put this tangy goodness on everything. Burgers, chicken, pork chops, steak, fish...A1 is my favorite. I always have it in the fridge.

I should start buying it in this size. It's probably cheaper.


2. Ranch. I think this one speaks for itself. Ranch and french fries...yes. Chicken nuggets and french fries...yes. Veggies and ranch...yes. Fried pickles and ranch...yes! Seriously...if it doesn't go with A1 it probably goes with french fries...or both! Have you ever had a baked potato with ranch? soooo good!


3. I guess you're wondering what I would put on sweet stuff...this was a tough one because there are a lot of good sweet sauces out there. The winner is definitely Nutella. Nutella and fruit, toast, cookies, graham crackers. Nutella is delicious!!



As I was searching for a Nutella photo...I found this...


hahaha!!!!

So what sauces or comdiments can you not live without?

Thursday, April 12, 2012

Death by Peanut Butter

I love birthdays, even if they are not my own. I just enjoy celebrating someones life and the more you have the better! My daddy (aka Father of the Year) has a birthday coming up this Saturday. One of my awesome co-workers also had a birthday this week. So naturally, I decided to make them something that I've been craving for months now...chocolate cupcakes with peanut butter icing.

My old boss used to make them for important meetings and birthdays and they were TO DIE FOR. Ever since I left, I've been craving them so bad. Its not one of those things you can have often, just once every 5 or 6 months but they are so good.

First things first. I do not cook and I definitely don't bake. I was definetely worried that these would end up tasting like a peanut butter and poop sandwich. Tasty...NOT

Don't worry...this isn't mine!
I asked around the office to find out how difficult making homemade peanut butter icing would be. I'm not a fan of icing from the jar (unless I have to), but I can make a mean box cake so I wasn't worried about that part. I found out that its not that difficult and any googled recipe should be fairly easy. I also learned a trade secret. If you add a box of pudding mix to the boxed cake mix, it ensures that the cake will turn out extra moist.

I started off making the basic Betty Crocker chocolate box cake. Easy enough. I throw the pudding mix in too. It changed the consistency of the mix a little bit, but other than that it was fine. (in hindsight, I really wish I had taken some pictures)

While the cupcakes were baking, I worked on the peanut butter icing. Here is the recipe I used:

Peanut Butter Frosting
Ingredients

½ cup butter, softened
1 cup peanut butter
3 tbsp milk, or as needed
2 cups confectioners' or icing sugar

Beat butter and peanut butter in an electric mixer. Slowly mix in the sugar, and when it thickens and gets dry, add the milk a little at a time until all of the sugar is mixed in and the frosting is thick and spreadable. Beat for at least 3 minutes for it to get good and fluffy

I had to double the recipe because I was making double the amount of cupcakes. It was nearly impossible to sit there and mix that icing without wanting to stick my entire face in it.


That reminds me of the summer we watched Mrs. Doubtfire every rainy day because my younger cousing was OBSESSED!

Once the cupcakes were ready I let them cool, while simultaneously licking the spatula (and dancing to immediately burn those calories ofcourse) and then worked on icing them. It didn't look professional but it was good enough for me. I made and iced 42 cupcakes...and only ate 1 (not counting the cake batter and icing that I ate out the bowl...)

This is the finished product!

They didn't all turn out that pretty, but those ones can go in my dad's batch because he could care less about how they look! Ofcourse I had to try one of my creations (before handing them out and embarassing myself). It was DELICIOIUS. It was very rich and moist and I'm glad that I had some milk handy to wash it down...I don't even like milk!

I'm very proud of myself...maybe I'll quit my job and become a full time baker...NOT!




Monday, April 9, 2012

The Job

I'm baccckkkkk!!! I'm so sorry for my extended absence. Work has been kicking me in the butt repeatedly but its paid off. Literally. I ended last week with a raise!! Praise the Lord. I'm so happy because I was honestly feeling underpaid and that does work on a girls motivation.

Speaking of motivation, I had an interesting conversation with a friend of mine last week. She is incredibly smart, she just finished her Ph.D and is someone that I've looked up to my entire life. She also does marathons, half-marathons, 5ks, 10ks, half ironmans, etc. Needless to say we could totally nickname her superwoman.

(note to self, never google images "superwoman" unprepared to see some things that can never be unseen)

Anyway we were talking about all the things that we've been disciplined enough to accomplish in life. We can make sure the bills are paid, go to work everyday, keep tabs on our friends and families, study hard enough to get good educations, yet somehow we have issues disciplining ourselves enough to eat right and work out.

Doesn't make sense. I can turn in every work assignment in on time, make all the necessary phone calls, and return every email in my inbox inbetween 8 million distractions in 8 hours or less but I can't make healthly eating decisions or workout consistently? It shouldn't be THAT hard?

It kind of got me thinking. What do I need to help keep me going? What motivates me at work...a paycheck. What motivated me to finish school...graduating so I could get a paycheck. Clearly I'm motivated by money. So why am I not paying myself?

I always say that I'm going to pay myself as I lose pounds, but that isn't promoting healthy weightloss. At work, I get paid as long as I show up and put effort towards my projects and then get extra when my projects succeed.

I'm applying this same principle to weight loss. Everytime I spend an entire day withing my calorie range...cha-ching. When I complete workouts...cha-ching. When I actually lose weight double cha-ching. The thing is, I have to figure a way to pay myself extra...its kind of silly if I'm just going to spend the money on stuff I want whether I pay myself or not. Since I'm in desperate need of a tight budget, any money that is not paid to me as a result of healthy eating and working out goes to neccessities and gas. Thats it.

So there...two problems are solved in one. Here we go!

Monday, April 2, 2012

WTFHIB?

Where the F have I been? Working. That's where. I haven't had a normal day in ages. So I apologize for the blog slow down. I have my yearly performance review on Thursday so after I secure a raise I'll slack off at work at start blogging more! haha! Hope you guys are doing well!!

Thursday, March 22, 2012

I BLANK

Happy Friday-Eve!! I am SO ready for the weekend. I have a ton going on, I need a work break, and I want to schedule 2 hours to see the Hunger Games. We'll see how that goes!!

Anyway, because work has been insane not much else is going on. I was reading Ashley's blog and she did a fun game so I'm going to continue it on....

I AM...choking due to the extremely high level of pollen floating in the air. It sucks because I've never suffered from season allergies before now.
I WANT...a pair of Christian Louboutin shoes and a banging body (is that too much to ask?)
A mere $700...justifiable...right?...
I HAVE...lots of clothes that don't fit (blessing and a curse) so I need to go shopping.
I WISH...well I can't tell you because then it won't come true ;-)
I HATE...bad drivers. Sometimes I don't know whats more stressful, my commute to work or work itself.
I FEAR...losing people I love before they know how much I truly care about them
I HEAR...that someone close to me is having a hard time and I hate it. I wish I could take it away and hurt for them so they don't have to
I SEARCH...for the remote. Constantly. I can never find it and when I do that means I don't know where my cell phone is. I never have both.

I WONDER...about my future.
I REGRET...I don't. Learn Something. Move on.
I LOVE...being Young, Fabulous, and Free
I ALWAYS...check my emails, facebook, and the weather before I get out of bed in the morning
I USUALLY...have something sweet after every meal. I try not to deprive myself.
I want to french kiss whoever invented these. AMAZING.
I AM NOT...interested in arguing about Politics. I think its personal.
I DANCE...in the car because I hate driving and I hate traffic and thats the only way to get me through it
I SING...horribly, while dancing in traffic (usually with all the windows down) and I have no shame
I NEVER...want to skydiving or bungee driving. NO. DESIRE.
I RARELY...use swear words. I try to use euphemisms like "fudge" or "arse"
I CRY...at sad movies and at everything during TOM
I AM NOT ALWAYS...as laid back as I seem. I just hide my "frenzied state" really well
I'M CONFUSED...by how stuff works, like cars (I don't know if its that I'm confused or that I just don't care)
I NEED...to get back into good eating habits if I'm ever going to get that "banging body"

I SHOULD...go to bed ASAP since I have training at 5:30 AM
I PROMISE...to have a good weekend!

I hope that you guys have a great weekend too!! 

Tuesday, March 20, 2012

Obsessions

Happy Tuesday!!

I have two obsessions this week.

I am all about some Hunger Games. The previews for the movie looked good but I have a horrible habit of seeing movies without reading the book first (i.e. Twilight...yes I've seen all the movies so far and LOVED them...don't hate). The first book is AMAZING. I finished it in 2 days and so this week I'll be getting the next book. If you haven't read it...do it.

Okay, maybe work isn't that bad...but close enough.



This is true. I would so be the first to die. Thank goodness I don't live in Panem.

Okay, enough being a Hunger Games Geek. My next obsession is the fact that I have signed up for the Peachtree Road Race which is a huge ATL 10k held every year on the 4th of July.



Once upon a time, when I was 15, I ran the PTRR. I remember it being fun and easy. I don't remember the hills or or the heat and I pretty sure it went by fairly quickly. However, I was 15. At 15 you have the ability to just pick up and run 6.2 miles without any training beforehand. But things are so different now....

So now i'm on a pretty serious training schedule. My personal trainer and I are working on getting my stronger and I'm working on my running and endurance. I'm doing a short version on C25K for the next 4 weeks and the bridge to 10K following that.


Obviously my plan is to run the whole way but who knows what will happen. I just want to finish the 6.2 miles...run, walk, or crawl!

What are your obsessions this week?